top of page

10 Years of Teaching with Master Fiaz



At Master Fiaz's 10th Anniversary

As some of you may (or may not) know, this year is our master’s 10th anniversary of teaching taekwondo back on 20th April 2018! In respect of this, we took some time to get to know Master Fiaz and learn more about his time as a teacher. Here are the questions and answers the UEL Taekwondo students asked:

1. What would you say to someone who was thinking about starting a martial art?

I would say, "Go for it!" Definitely try it out. There is NO reason why you can't actually learn it (martial art) and if you don't like it then it could be the environment- there is no reason why you can't try it out.

If you're physically healthy or even if you're not, there's so much to learn, not just the physical side of it, there's mental development as well.

There's no reason why you shouldn't give it a go. Most clubs offer free trial lesson.

 

"It's not about quantity, it's about making sure everyone is achieving at their level and that everyone is challenged."

 

2. What has been the most difficult moment?

Teaching has never been difficult. It's when you're training, I found most difficult.

There's one particular (seminar) that springs to mind now. It was with the 2004 Olympic Gold medalist, Moon Dae Sung and I remember Stephen (UEL Founding Member) was there- actually I didn't know Stephen back then.

It was good to find out the way they (Koreans) were training- 3 hours of strengthening and conditioning...

So it was really hard sparring and I actually got to spar him (Moon Dae Sung) briefly and when he hits you- imagine a bazuka hit you like a sucker punch. His thigh was the size of my torso, he's a heavyweight so 6ft 4 and when he moved and hits you- you're there thinking, "Did he move?".

He actually hit me in the groin, oh my god, it was so painful.

The worst thing was, I wasn't wearing a groin guard so what happened was I had my leg up, checking and he got me from under (my leg). I don't know how I got kids. That was one of the most difficult moments- to try to stand back up, he helped me up to continue (the training).

...Did you continue?

I did continue but he was so apologetic about it that he wouldn't fight back because he knew he hit me quite low.

Other than that, it was a good experience but trying to get back up from that pain was extremely difficult.

3. What has been the best moment?

I can't think of one. There's been so many.

Every year there's always something to celebrate like getting my own black belt was a nice feeling but then when I helped other people get theirs (black belt) it was more nicer. And having some of the competitors win medals- winning yourself is always a nice feeling but when you see your own students, the people who you helped train to get better and win medals, it's a lot nicer.

I don't know, I think that's just me. I think when everyone is trying (their hardest during training), I can feel what they're feeling. Sometimes when you guys are sparring, you might not know it but I am always fighting (along) with you within my body but you can't see it. I almost always feel like I'm twitching (to kick), I want to hit the person through you or something.

There's one point, I remember when I used to do a lot of sparring, I would kick in the night and wake up with my blanket off. I think it's impulse.

4. What is your vision for UEL Taekwondo?

My vision for UEL Taekwondo is to keep it growing. I want it to be a more of a tier system.

I would prefer that eventually that we would need to separate i.e. red belts and above, white to green belts, specific classes because for me, I can't see you guys continue to improve if you continue to train like this (mixed abilities) all the time.

I'm not saying that's a bad thing, we could, for one class e.g like this (class right now)- where we train together and get to know each other and that's important.

But there are times where I feel like you are not getting the best out of it purely because of the environment and timing. Sometimes I do feel we need red belt class, green belt class- targeted and individualised. It's not about quantity, it's about making sure everyone is achieving at their level and that everyone is challenged.

So that's what I would've love for UEL (Taekwondo) to grow into. But I know it's hard because of number 1- student commitment - your priorities are your degrees, not this and I appreciate how much time you have given but well and truly, I cannot expect you to come by badgering you about commitment, so I am in a difficult position. I can always wish the best for you.

(Lastly) And more self defense! I want to work towards more demonstration and self defense training and I think it's so much more important in this day and age, not just (focus on) sport.

 

"It's (teaching) helped me absorb things better."

 

5. Why did you decide to start Taekwondo?

Being my height is one. (Back in) 2004 when I first started to look into martial arts, there wasn't YouTube around so you had to literally type in martial arts names,. So when I looked into wing chun and other martial arts, Taekwondo had its own demonstration side of things with the spinning techniques and all sorts of crazy acrobatics. I wasn't too focused on sport but I did see it and thought it was interesting. The club that I was training at, was focused on sport and competition so I ended up doing that.

Deep down, the kicking skills and the acrobatics is what really attracted me first but then I learned that there's so much more to it (Taekwondo) than that- there's the philosophy, the culture- you know, Poomsae is really amazing when you know what you are doing and you keep growing and growing. Then once you take it apart it's like a Lego set with one piece of instruction and then you take the bricks apart to make your own model and you can go, "Yea that's what I made." That's what you can do with Poomsae.

Make your own Poomsae or apply in your own self defense or actions. That's why I feel if you can make it your own- I feel that's more important.

With the sport, you can only play with the rules set, you have your own skill set but it's all about winning. I didn't start Taekwondo to win, I did it to help me and it's helped me in so many ways- confidence, physical health, meeting new people- I didn't think I would meet any of you, honestly.

 

"I do a lot of research to give me more direction..."

 

6. Did you see yourself become a teacher when you first started?

No chance. I was so happy doing the training and being a student is easy.

I think I'm always mindful of others and always want others to do better. Even as a beginner at white belt, there were a lot of kids around and you can see the struggle they go through and you don't want them to be behind.

And having (my own) kids, as you can see how I am with them. We want them to improve, I always want what's best for others, I think it's in my character.

I think teaching is a great way to look at anything you do in a more focused manner- so if you are teaching something you've got to absorb (information). It's (teaching) helped me absorb things better. When I had to teach others, it became, "Oh, if I have to teach someone else, then I need to know what I'm talking about." So I do a lot of research to give me more direction, makes it easier to train as well, you don't feel shy to talk to others and feel happy to help. I think people saw that and you get respect for it.

7. What inspires and motivates you in life?

Some of it is you guys because you guys keep getting better! So it makes it hard for me (to stay ahead) but in a good way!

There are many other people that inspire me, Master Bae is one. The reason why is- he is one of those individuals you don't know much about and once you get to know him really well, you find out interesting facts.

Watching demonstration (performances) with the flips and you guys!

Inspiration and motivation for me right now is teaching and being the best teacher I can be for you and myself. I will try to put more things in place to help us get better.

Special message: "Thank you to all who have made the day special- the food, holding the boards, just EVERYTHING. It has been such a great pleasure in teaching every one of you."- Master Fiaz

 

Like what you see? Become our supporter! You can register and choose Team DJB Taekwondo as your chosen cause. Click here or the banner to be redirected to our cause page. If you would like to raise funds for your own cause please click here.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page