top of page

"Taekwondo really teaches and trains your strongest limbs on your body"

Following the black belt series, although Taekwondo is known as a sport and martial art but with Shinji, who is a professional actor and stunt trainee, shares his Taekwondo experience and how it enhanced and complemented his craft. Congratulations on achieving 1st Dan!



Hi Shinji! It's great to have you! Thank you for your time.


1. Your Taekwondo journey has been quite interesting. Can you tell us how it started for you?


It all started from an interest in the kicking skills I saw when top Taekwondo trickers (acrobatic kicks) showcased amazing spin kicks. Then as the martial arts/combat sport category for the Stunt Register got harder, it was unrealistic to complete the combat sport criteria with Boxing which I was doing at the time. So I decided to drop Boxing and pursue Taekwondo to see if it could be done, which it did!


2. Did you have expectations and has it been met?


It’s by far given me more than what was expected, I was able to have my training personalised with my instructor who helped me access regular group sessions throughout the week as well as 1 to 1 personal training which helped me advance quicker than normal. Intense sessions made a difference.


3. What were the challenges you faced and if any, how did you overcome them?


To begin with I found I was really impatient with the Poomsae moves (Forms/Patterns), but by carrying on I slowly started to enjoy them which is what you need, to help you with grading and progressing onto the next belt rank.


4. How has the COVID situation changed your approach to your personal training?


This was a really hard challenge and a major set back with our black belt grading. I always get motivated when I’m in class so it was difficult to train as often but we had Taekwondo zoom training sessions to keep up with the fitness and a few trained with a few colleagues outside the club (socially distancing of course).



5. What aspect of Taekwondo are you looking forward to training in again, once it’s safe to?


Stretching, learning kick combos & kicking pads.


6. Lastly, what advice would you give to anyone looking to do Taekwondo, whether they're new or not?


I would highly recommend it fully to anyone because Taekwondo really teaches and trains your strongest limbs on your body. Too many people are quite clumsy and neglect leg training and to be nimble and accurate with Taekwondo skills is extremely beneficial and healthy. It’s not as aggressive as kickboxing or Muay Thai but can be. There’s a beautiful art in using it as a performance or for my case to use in TV & Film as a action actor. So I would massively encourage those that are wanting to perfect their kicking for the big screen too and give it that wow factor!


- END -


Disclosure: The black belt examination was altered to comply with COVID restrictions in place and ensuring the examination standards set by Kukkiwon were met.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page