top of page

What the DJB stands for.


Happy (belated) New Year!

It has been some time since the last blog post as Team DJB were focused on delivering the "Self-Defense classes for Females" project and finishing off just before the winter break.

During the break, the Team DJB coaches met up to discuss and plan some exciting projects as well as an opportunity for some collaborative work between Surrey and UEL Taekwondo Clubs, coming up in 2018.

In case you are wondering what the DJB stands for in the name, "Team DJB Taekwondo", it's the initials of Master Dong Jin Bae. So, to get to know the man behind the name, Master Shujahat Fiaz gave an interview when they met up during the holidays.

When did you first start practicing Martial Arts? Did you have any reason to learn?


I started Taekwondo when I was 9 or 10 years old. My parents were concerned that I was quite shy at this age and wanted me to do something to help me.

What was your best experience in your Taekwondo Career?

My biggest highlight was winning the National Sparring Tournament during high school. By winning this tournament I was able to gain a full sports scholarship from my university to do a degree in Taekwondo.

How has Martial Arts practice helped you in your life?

Physically it has given me a healthy lifestyle by keeping me active, mentally it has helped me be more confident but also see the importance of being a good moral character and avoiding harmful activities such as taking drugs and antisocial behaviour.


How long have you been teaching Martial Arts/ Taekwondo?

I have been teaching Taekwondo for 26 years now; I started teaching during my military service in the Navy where I was coaching as well as competing at the same time. After this, I went on to teaching a middle school team as well as running my own local dojang.

Currently, I am teaching Taekwondo at a local Korean community school and Surrey University as well as Patron of Team DJB Taekwondo. I also used to coach the UEL Taekwondo Club before handing it over to their current coach, Master Shujahat Fiaz.

Have you learnt any other Martial Arts?

I have 1st Dan (black belt degree) in Judo as well as experience in Kickboxing and Korean Wrestling.

What is it about Taekwondo particularly that interested you? Has that reason changed over the years?

I love the dynamic kicking skills and sparring but now feel I have a duty to pass on my knowledge and experience in Martial Arts to my students.


What do you want Team DJB Taekwondo to achieve?

I hope that Team DJB gives the opportunity for Taekwondo practitioners to experience the multiple facets of what Taekwondo can offer as an activity and for personal development.

What do you hope your students will achieve through Taekwondo?

Through Taekwondo I hope that my students experience Korean Culture and respect for

other people and be morally upright individuals.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page