top of page

Meet the new black belts 2019


The black belt grading took place on Sunday 23rd June 2019. Five senior members from the University of East London Taekwondo Club passed their 1st Dan Taekwondo exam. We took some time to catch up with them to reflect on their journey, what they're going to do after and what advice they would give to those who are thinking of joining the Club from September 2019.


Thank you to the seniors for taking time in answering the following questions and congratulations on attaining your st Dan black belts!

ES: Edna

DC: Darren

MP: Matthew

DD: Dan

RK: Rishi


1. How does it feel now that you've finally got your first black belt?


ES: I feel pumped! I feel confident and enthusiastic, very, very motivated to represent this belt.


DC: Technically it's my second black belt as I have one in kickboxing, but this one means a lot more to me. It feels good to have, I'm just anxious about living up to it now.


MP: It feels great to make it to black belt, but I don't think I've quite come to terms with the responsibility it brings. So much is expected of me in both skill and the way I conduct myself as a martial artist. I'm still learning, and at this stage it's important to keep working on the basics, and to keep adding to my skillset.


DD: Feels like I still have a long way to go in terms of progress.


RK: It feels like a visible sign of progression and it feels great to have accomplished this and more so do it together with my friends and my club.


2. [To Matthew & Rishi] Last year, you came to watch the black belt grading. Did you feel it helped with your own grading?


MP: I've watched three black belt gradings , and its clear to me that some prefer the sports aspect such as sparring and others prefer the traditional martial art. When you see other people overcome the challenges you are yet to face, it is simply inspirational. I often myself saying "one day that'll be me" and I'm sure those who watched my grading were thinking the same thing.


RK: I do feel that coming to watch last year's grading really helped me for this year's grading as I had a much better picture of what was to come and was able to prepare with the test in mind!


3. What was the examination like and what was the hardest, easiest and/or most enjoyable?

ES: Examination was nerve racking. I was really scared to embarrass myself and worst to disappoint my masters. I wanted to show that I listen and I can represent the club. I wanted to feel proud of myself and that was a lot of pressure that I put it on me. Nevertheless, the most enjoyable part was to learn or re-learn all the other patterns again and performing them and finally breaking boards are super fun.

DC: The examination wasn't too bad. I was really happy that I didn't make any huge mistakes with the poomsae as I've been working hard to try and be better at it. The press ups on knuckles were probably the hardest as I have weak wrists.

MP: The most difficult aspect of this grading was performing in front of someone different, someone who hasn't seen my abilities: the strengths, the weaknesses, the tireless dedication that goes into every training session. The experience changes your whole mindset, when you realise that doing things such as fifty push ups were always within your reach. Anything can be overcome with perseverance , hard work, and sheer will. The most enjoyable part was the one step sparring. I love anything to do with self defence. It's the reason I wanted to do a martial art.


DD: The exam felt very tense in the beginning and getting those nerves to calm down was the hardest part, in which eventually they did, which lead to the rest of the exam being an enjoyable experience. As for the easiest, I didn't think any part of the exam was easy.


RK: I thought it would be quite gruelling however I think it was the smoothest grading I have ever done. It was a really enjoyable experience. Of course it wasn't easy in the slightest and then again nothing ever worth attaining is, it was great to see all the preparation and training pay off and be able to perform well enough to be given the black belt!


4. How did you prepare for your black belt exam?


ES: I had to rely on different materials and platforms . I definitely realised that filming myself whilst doing poomsae helped to understand my mistakes. The far most valuable preparation was the feedback from Master Fiaz and Stephen. We have great support in the club , so the other black belts helped me a great deal too. Plus lots of practice. I was breathing poomsae and one step sparring.


DC: I practiced poomsae a lot, read through the syllabus, and on the journey to London was watching poomsae videos to help keep it all in my mind, frustratingly when counting in Korean I still get 8 and 9 confused.


MP: Preparation isn't something you start doing two or three months before grading. The only preparation anyone needs is putting 100% into training and asking questions no matter how silly they appear to be. The growth of any martial artist is gradual, so I think I'd been preparing for it since my very first trial session four years ago. The black belt doesn't define me. I define what it means to be a black belt.

DD: Practicing a few hours a day doing a few basic movements and going through each poomsae when I could.


RK: I prepared by attending training as well as training with red belts outside of class in addition to training on my own. I trained in many different ways for this grading at every opportunity I could, whether that be going through poomsae in my head while travelling or doing press-ups after work, I tried to use my time effectively!


5. What was the most difficult thing you had to overcome?


ES: Definitely my insecurity with Korean terminology . I was concerned that I could not hear properly or not knowing a certain type of kick , punch or block . And messed them up even when was explained in English once I think in my mother tongue (Portuguese). The struggle was real.


DC: The most difficult thing to overcome was probably my own self doubt, I was constantly thinking "maybe I'm not good enough" and "I'm too fat and unfit" and "I've missed so many sessions". But thanks to Emel (partner) always giving me reassurance I was able to pull myself through it.


MP: The most difficult barrier to overcome was always the self doubt. Self doubt leads to fear. You can either give in to that fear, or use it to make you stronger but overcoming it.


DD: Nervousness for sure.


RK: The most difficult thing I had to overcome was pressure on the day. Even though in the past you feel like you know things but then on the day you fluff things up, this time on the day I had to focus and really do what I had been training to do without feeling the pressure and I think there is no better way to perform well on the day than to prepare thoroughly before hand!


6. What have you personally gained from Taekwondo in general?

ES: Gratitude. I’ve learned how to trust myself more . Resilience, confidence and the need of always work on myself. Taking care of mind and body .

DC: From taekwondo I've gained fitness (and injuries XD), confidence, friends and most importantly a new family.


MP: I came to university with nothing but broken dreams and bitter memories. Joining UEL Taekwondo gave me, and continues to give me, the strength to overcome the difficulties of everyday life. I have a second family. I have new friends, memories, something to look forward to every week.


DD: New friends and a confidence boost.


RK: I have gained a lot from Taekwondo from awesome friends to developing self-discipline as well as self-belief something which has helped me a lot this year to be able to achieve my goals!

7. Now that you're a black belt, what's next for you?


ES: More learning , more focus , less excuses , more responsibility . Understanding that I am not on my own and others be seeking for advice about a movement or a step etc the same way I have been and will still be asking for tips and advice.


DC: Next is just to keep training, work more on stretching and fitness. Got to live up to the expectations placed in me after all.

MP: There's no rushing to everyday 2nd Dan. I want to enjoy this moment. I want to continue to grow, learn, pass on my knowledge to other people. I'm just happy to have completed this chapter of my story. I can't wait for the next.


DD: For now, finding a new place to regularly train at.


RK: Now that I am a black belt I don't think much will change in terms of how I approach training, I will still be working to improve myself and always become better! In terms of responsibility I may attend more seminars/training/competitions and even have a bigger role in teaching but I still see all this as learning and will continue to grow as well as help out wherever I can.


8. What would you say to those who are thinking of starting Taekwondo?

ES: That Taekwondo is more than kicks and pads, Taekwondo is life. Plus don’t be afraid to try even when you think “I can’t do that". Give it a try first .

DC: For people thinking of joining, just do it. You won't regret it!!

MP: For anyone considering joining... it will be the best decision of your life.

DD: Give it a go! Only by trying will you know if you'll enjoy Taekwondo.

RK: I would say just go for it! There is so much to learn from Taekwondo and so many friends to be made!

9. Can I ask when you started Taekwondo? And whether you have done anything similar before coming here?


ES: No, have always been fascinated with martial arts however I never done anything until UEL.


DC: I started in 2015 in my foundation year but I had done kickboxing for years before.


MP: I started taekwondo September 2015. I originally wanted to join the basketball team but after going to a trial session for both clubs, I joined taekwondo instead. I did a bit of Karate when I was 8 years old, but gave it up after a year.


DD: 4 years ago and no.


RK: I started in October 2015. And nope, I haven't done anything like this at all.


-END-

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page