top of page

"Create new experiences"

Adding to the black belt blog series is Roberto, who joined the Taekwondo club at university while studying. He joins a long list of alumni who have achieved black belts through their time with Team DJB Taekwondo and community projects.

Hello Roberto! Thanks for taking the time to answer the following questions:


1. How did you start Taekwondo?


I joined the university club during my second year at UEL. I knew about the sport from before and when I saw it on the list of available sports I signed up without thinking twice.


2. What do you find that is interesting or unique about Taekwondo?


The most unique or most interesting aspect of Taekwondo is probably the kicks. The variety and aesthetics of the kicks are the best compared to any other martial arts, in my view.

3. What was the highlight of your competitive career?


I haven't had an extensive competitive career but if I had to choose one it would probably be winning at Varsity against Anglian Ruskin university team on my second year of Taekwondo.


4. So you graduate back in 2019, what made you continue Taekwondo with us?


I really like Taekwondo and I feel there's a lot I can learn and do; as well as, the club having just a good environment and feeling like a family.


5. How has the COVID situation changed your approach to your personal training?


I've started training more outside of the training sessions, even if sometimes has been challenging with work.


6. What aspect of Taekwondo are you looking forward to training in again, once it’s safe to?


Sparring. Before the pandemic I was really looking forward to start doing more sparring competitions, so hopefully after everything goes back to normal I will be able to take part in them.


7. Congratulations on your 1st Dan! What do you hope to achieve next?


Probably achieving the full splits.


8. Lastly, what advice would you give to anyone looking to do Taekwondo, whether they're new or not?


Just enjoy and have fun. Make as many friends as you can and create new experiences.


- END -


Disclosure: The black belt examination was altered to comply with COVID restrictions in place and ensuring the examination standards set by Kukkiwon were met.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page