top of page

Club President's Welcome Speech



Hi everyone,

I wanted to welcome everyone to the Taekwondo club for this year, both returners (welcome back) and new members (Thank you for joining us). I know this year may have started off a bit confused, due to the changes made to the system (moving more online than before), but soon we’ll be back on track for another great year!

I thought I’d take this opportunity to talk a little bit about my experience in the club over the last few years. I remember how anxious I felt on that first day, when I didn’t know anyone, feeling like I was a total mess (I still am of course ^_^). But everyone was so friendly and accepting, they let me join their family. It’s that feeling that has made joining taekwondo my best decision since starting uni, that’s kept me going even after I felt terrible from crushing defeats and injuries. If it wasn’t for taekwondo, I may have even given up on uni. I hope that all of you who join can have the chance to feel the same way as I do about our taekwondo club here at UEL.

We are working on socials this year and are looking forward to organising some fun get-togethers. We are also looking into buying team jackets this year, you may have seen some of our longer-term members with jackets and I really think they help to make you feel part of the group.

For people who are interested in competing there will be more details on competitions as the year continues. Just remember there is absolutely no pressure to compete, only do it if you want to.

Just to remind you, Taekwondo is about respect, self-discipline and commitment. Without these, it will be more difficult to progress. With that out of the way, welcome (or welcome back) to our Taekwondo family!

Darren

UEL Taekwondo Club President


(L-R) 2018-19 Committee members: Darren, Master Fiaz, Matthew and Sarah.

For more updates and information on UEL Taekwondo, follow the team on the WixBlog, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


You want to support grassroots Taekwondo? Sign up and choose Team DJB Taekwondo as your cause for your donations to go to.

Click here or the banner to be redirected. If you would like to set up your own cause page, please click on our referral link.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page