top of page

Summer Black Belt Grading 2018



Congratulations to the new black belts! UEL coach and members with Master Bae and two members from a female only club.

*** DO NOT copy or repost any pictures without permission!***

Throwback to Sunday’s Black Belt Summer Grading 2018! [24.06.2018] Another year, another set of black belts.

Among those who sat their first black belt promotion tests, Master Fiaz sat his 5th Dan and UEL alumni Josie passed her 3rd Dan.

Master Bae was the examiner for the day and was impressed by the performances.

After training for many years and finally passing their black belt tests, here are what our new black belts have to say about reaching this milestone:

How do you feel now that you have your black belt?

Zac: I honestly feel the same as I did when I started, just more knowledgeable but I guess I'm pleased with myself for being able to stick with it. Although every time I look back I realise how much I have changed and improved, there's an overwhelming feeling of growth. And then there's the sense of expectation that comes with being a black belt, the ability to perform to a high standard which varies greatly depending on who the viewer is. So I guess I feel more responsible now?

Alex: I feel that I have more responsibility when I wear black !

Mark: I could simply say how I feel in a few descriptive words: ecstatic, energised, focused.But truthfully I am deeply satisfied that I have persisted to a point of recognition; which I once never thought I would care so much about - and so many thoughts on my future in Taekwondo, and it's one I very much like actively pursuing.

Haengeun: AMAZING. I feel as if I’ve gained a new super power! It’s so empowering to be able to wear black belt around my waist, put on my special dobok, and train with such an inspiring teammates and my instructor who taught me so much. Achieving my 1st dan is a symbol of my dedication, passion and sweats I’ve put in to master the basic skills and knowledge of Taekwondo. It’s really exciting to think that I’m at the beginning of never-ending Taekwondo journey. So much to learn and explore!

Josie: super relieved lol (on passing her 3rd Dan)

What did you learn from your Taekwondo journey up until now?

Zac: I learnt so much from my journey, too much to list in a reasonable answer so I guess a couple of the more important things. I suppose the first thing would be if you really want to achieve something its really down to you to work hard and get things done. Sure you might need help to achieve the next goal but ultimately its down to you and your ability to push on and progress, whether you find help or not. I also learnt that martial arts aren't what a lot of people perceive it to be. This idea that because you know a martial art or you're a black belt then therefore you're really tough and you can handle yourself etc etc. The reality is this isn't true I've seen people that are considered a black belt that don't deserve the title because physically they aren't capable but mentally they are capable or just as often vice versa. I've learnt that really the belt grade often doesn't represent what people are capable of and that you cannot learn everything you need to know especially from just one martial art. That's not to say that I haven't seen people that are deserving of being a higher grade than what they are. I suppose my point is that grades and belts etc although can be valuable in determining someone's ability it doesn't tell the whole story. It's almost like judging a book by its cover, there is much more to be seen.

Alex: When I joined the (UEL) Taekwondo club, to be honest, I felt that the members at that time looked to me as an intruder and I was thinking that I had to be better than the others, no matter belt colour they wear and I shouldn't be defeated at all in the ring. But in time, I've learn that Taekwondo is not just a sport, it means much more: Discipline, humble, respect, self control and this are just a few qualities of this martial art. Also, I realised that old and new members become my second family and all the feelings I felt in the beginning were wrong. I learned that I shouldn't judge no one and I have to be patient, humble and to show respect.

Mark: Personally I feel like my patience and self-discipline has come a long way since starting a martial art, but I think the 5 tenets fit my learning suitably here: Courtesy, Integrity, Perseverance, Self-Control and Indomitable Spirit.

  • Courtesy in the form of respect of others; particularly my peers whom i have grown into a second family with.

  • Integrity in my actions and actively being a better person.

  • Perseverance in not just working hard on a martial art but learning a deeper meaning, that my journey has only started and the realisation that the easiest, perhaps most care-free part is over.

  • Self-control through being able to own my actions and having the discipline to see my strengths and my flaws.

  • Indomitable Spirit by learning to never stop trying; that frustration and failure are the precursers to success; not the replacement.

Haengeun: My Taekwondo journey so far hasn’t been a straightforward one. Over the years, I’ve moved clubs; took a long break from training; study, work and life pulled me in so many different directions that my flame almost burned out at one point. But despite it all, I somehow found my way back to Taekwondo, continued my training and finally made it to black belt! And that’s exactly what Taekwondo taught me - that whatever happens, it’s all down to me. With dedication and commitment, I can overcome whatever challenges that life throws at me and achieve my goal. No mountain is too high to climb.

Josie: I've learnt that there's a lot I can do & have done in the past few years that I never imagined I'd be able to do. Because of that, it motivates me in other aspects of life; if I can do things now that I previously thought wouldn't be possible, why not try & aim for things that don't seem possible now?

What advice would you give to those who are thinking of taking up Taekwondo when they come to university?

Zac: To those thinking of starting Taekwondo or any martial art or really anything in life, be open minded! You can't truly know whether you'll like something by doing it once, or talking to someone once or whatever it is your doing. You must be open minded and stick with it, things (that are) worth doing are not usually easy.

Alex: To have patience, to train hard and to try to be a better person than they've been the day before. Results will show up sooner or later and they will never regret it.

Mark: Don't force yourself to do anything you do or do not want to do. Healthiness and success comes in moderation and a balance in your life; Taekwondo can be a good balance to your life - try and commit to it; you will never learn to regret your going to Taekwondo; but you may regret not attending more often a few months down the line! -Also shouting, we shout A LOT in Taekwondo and lower grades don't seem to realise that shouting is really fun.

Haengeun: Have fun, and don’t be afraid to try. If you don’t give it a go, you are never going to discover what you are capable of. Enjoy every aspects of what Taekwondo has to offer, and you’ll be surprised to find the passion that you never knew you had. And of course, NEVER quit! Life will throw at you so many excuses not to train, but dedicate your time and energy, and Taekwondo will repay you with a real sense of pride and achievement that will last a lifetime.

Josie: Don't let anything or anyone put you off, it's normal for it to be nerve wracking at first, especially if you don't know what to expect, and you'll likely have a number of aches within the first few weeks, but push through & it'll be worth it! Just remember, every senior member has been through the same thing, so you're not alone!

What will you do next?

Zac: In terms of what's next for me, I'll continue Taekwondo, quite likely compete in sparring a few more times and see how that goes. I definitely want to start doing more Brazilian jujitsu at some point maybe even have a crack at Muay Thai but it really depends if I have the time. It's unlikely I'll ever stop practising Taekwondo though, I still have much to learn. As for the rest of the mess that is my life, I have no idea XD. All in good time I suppose.

Alex: I feel that my journey in Taekwondo just started. I have to improve my skills and to learn more. New challenges will come and I have to be prepared for everything.

Mark: The Joke answer is the chew bubblegum and kick butt, but sadly be all out of bubblegum and thus only kick butts. The better answer is that I would like to start preparing for my next belt; and if I get a chance try doing more centre-refereeing for sparring, It's really rather fun.

Haengeun: Fly to the moon and explore the heavenly glory! i.e. continue my exploration of Taekwondo :) Getting my 1st dan is just the beginning, and I have so much more to learn. I want to achieve full splits, win medals from competitions, perfect my poomsae and progress onto 2nd dan. And most importantly, I want to continue having fun and inspire others along the way.

Josie: My focus now is on flexibility & practicing higher level poomsae.

 

Next Generation

Thank you to Rishi and Matthew who came to assist with the board breaking and of course taking notes as they will be training towards their black belts, same time next year.

What did you learn from watching and what do you see as the standard of being a black belt as you will be working towards your black belt exams next year?

Rishi: I learned a lot about the skills and training required to be a black belt. From the one step sparring to executing the stances with correct form, there is a serious requirement dedicated training. For Poomsae, for example there is an emphasis on deeper understanding of the moves to be able to fully execute them in the correct way, and that most of all focus is required as you may know all the moves but a lack of focus can throw you off and leave you making mistakes. So I learnt if you understand the moves, know the moves and have focus then you can have a worthwhile grading. So I believe watching this grading has given me a better understanding of what is required to be a black belt and given me motivation to never stop training or take breaks as it is a continuous process wherein one can and always should be improving. Matthew: I think the most important thing I learnt from the black belt grading is that I should never give up. I expected the standards to be high, but only someone dedicated to a martial arts could understand can appreciate the dedication, time and patience that goes into the training. It isn't about just about getting the black belt. It's about the journey to that stage, and what you decide to do with the knowledge you gain along the way that defines you as a martial artist. In response to the second question, I think watching both red belts going for black belt, and black belts moving up the ranks, has inspired to keep going no matter how difficult it gets. I don't want to just perform as the those who came before me, I aspire to do better. The standards expected of a black belt may be high, but I believe I too can perform at that level. If I didn't believe I could do it, I wouldn't still be training. 

***DO NOT copy or repost any pictures without permission please!***

-------CREDITS:-------

Proof reader and editors- ML and JB

Members wrote their own answers.

Pictures by ML, Stephen and Haengeun.

-------------------------

Register and support our cause! Click here or the banner to be redirected to our casuse page. If you would like to set up for your own cause plesae click here for the referral link.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page